Image Alt

Scientific Committee

Who we are

Institutional Organization

One of the requirements for being granted “Cultural Route of the Council of Europe” is evidence of coordinated research between network members and the need for each of the celebrations to be researched by a group of multi-disciplinary specialists from different regions of Europe. This is the only way that the network can meet the “enhancement of memory, history and European heritage” objective.

To this end, the creation and correct functioning of a scientific committee are necessary in order to coordinate actions that demonstrate that the network has one common goal based on historical rigour and common heritage.

Scientific Committee

The following researchers are members of the Scientific Committee for the European Network of Holy Week and Easter Celebrations:


Julio Grande Ibarra (coordinator)

Eduardo Sánchez Abadie (Lorca Town Council Archive)

Ignazio Buttita (University of Palermo, Sicily)

Antonio Luis Galiano (Official Chronicler, Orihuela)

Rui Ferreira (Braga’s Holy Week Commission)

Francisco Javier Martínez Prieto (Diocese of Viveiro)

Salvador Rodríguez (University of Seville)

Pilar Panero García (University of Valladolid)

José Luis Alonso Ponga (University of Valladolid)

Gema Carrera Díaz (Andalusian Institute of Historic Heritage)

María Pía Timón (National Plan for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage in the Spanish Cultural Heritage Institute)